Cosy

May 11, 2023

I greet them both with
‘you’re ok’
but for different reasons.

One comes in battle, refusing to come out
then getting frustrated then
it’s needles and an efficient team and she doesn’t
shout at first,
if I remember right
but I tell her ‘you’re ok’ and then
when the doctors can’t find her little vein I tell them to
wait, she’s been through enough for now
and they do.

This is Kira, the leader of men. She does battle,
she shoots magic
she carries the temper of grandparents.
She has a laugh like an avalanche, she smiles
when she is not serious.
She is very cosy.

The other comes as planned.
She emerges
on time, she cries.
I tell her
‘you’re ok’ and she stops crying.
maybe she has heard my voice in the womb,
maybe we’re linked.
she smiles early, she says ‘agu’.
she has one tooth and grabs things, cat like.
she likes to hold her toes when she’s on her back.
she smiles she smiles she smiles her warmth
into the dry depth of love of her
mother shape and father shape

This is Eva, the life. It’s too early to say what she does.
She does a good bite on my finger with one tooth.
She does a short laugh, unpracticed,
but when you tickle her
it comes like droplets of a holy bell
She is very cosy.

I am a tall shape of a man,
walking through the sunset holding
the hands
of my daughters.

One Response to “Cosy”

  1. wkkortas said

    Your voice is as strong as ever, amen.

Leave a comment