Untitled

April 3, 2014

If I was asleep
I would open my eyes and find her,
Lost between the birch branches in B Cemetery,
Hidden in the budding leaves covered in city dust on K street
Twirling with the eddies of rain as it escapes down gutters on S square

If I was not asleep
I would open my hand (the one that’s always closed)
present my palms to her (like a gift), and say

“Lex,
I still have the picture
where you smiled
that last time”

3 Responses to “Untitled”

  1. claudia said

    i love the opening the otherwise always closed hand and the presenting the palm to her… so much vulnerability and openness in this….and that last stanza with the picture is a powerful image as well….hey… cool to see a poem by you again..

  2. forpuck said

    Thanks Claudia. It’s good to have my one reader 😉

  3. Mama Zen said

    This is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

