Meet me

May 5, 2011

Meet me
at the cheap table in Brussels
when my cigar has ran out
and my glass is half empty again.

We will sit in silence,
drinking slowly
Then I will reach out
to touch your lips and
you’ll tell me
That my hand smells of smoke and
that I should stop frowning
all the time

We will sit while the breeze
makes us colder and colder,
debating
whether the tattoo on the waitresses’ wrist is her only one.

Then you’ll tell me 
that she’s probably a slut anyway,
before we settle our tab
and walk home
through the empty streets

11 Responses to “Meet me”

  1. The mood in this is so tangible! I love poems that tell a story and make you feel like you’re right in the middle of it. I can smell the cigar smoke and see the tattoo. Beautiful! 🙂

  2. Claudia said

    love this one anton – probably one of my new favs by you..

  3. brian said

    great capture of a simple moment and a lot of textures that define it…she is probably a slut…well maybe…enjoy the walk…

  4. wkkortas said

    Reminds me a bit of the old Simon & Garfunkel tune (as opposed to one of their new ones?) “The Dangling Conversation”; like that, this interweaves the disconnect of two lives running more parallel than together with a certain world-weary wryness. It’s fine stuff, observant and trenchant without hammering us with a moral.

  5. Gay Cannon said

    Reminds me of L’Absinthe by Degas. When we’ve run out of words to say to each other, we criticize the waitress, talk about old films, or stare blankly into space wondering if “that’s all there is, my friend”. Excellent capture, old times and modern times pressed together here. Thanks, Gay

  6. Claudia said

    read it for the 2nd time…and now i know why i like it so much anton…it’s – not sure how to say it – there is a sense of loneliness and i’m touched by it and there’s always so much room to breathe between your lines. it feels a bit like as if you reduce the poem to the minimum and there it is – a skeleton of words and somewhere in between these lines i hear them talking to me…does this sound weird?

  7. forpuck said

    Thank you everyone for the comments, which are very kind as always.

    Claudia, that was one of the best compliments I’ve ever received I think. But maybe I’m extra sentimental today.

  8. C Rose said

    Well I really enjoyed this piece. I felt both sorrow for the absence of life in this couple and a sense that this is exactly how they love. Wonderful piece, I look forward to reading more of your work. ~ Rose

  9. ayala said

    Nice piece and I agree with Rose.

  10. Lori said

    i have yet to pinpoint exactly what it is that i love about reading your work, but i always enjoy it, every time. tonight is no exception. I think it is the hollow feel of the words, but then they’re packed with significance and deeper meaning. So, now do you see why i don’t try to explain it? great job 🙂

  11. claudia said

    hey – just went for a walk, sitting on a bench and read it again. really love this one – it’s excellent imho

Leave a Reply

