Tonight’s Gonna Be a Good Night

January 18, 2011

I stood in a place of Hunger
where the heat was on.
Ten euros to enter the darkness,
lights flashed a staccato of polaroid seduction
across my face.
After so many years
I still hadn’t seem to forgotten
how to
Be Fresh
or how pointless the beat is,
As it washes down drinks
at ten euro a pop, while
bodies sway and bite and grasp
an surely even fornicate.

There was no sin there
in the bowels of the discotheque,
Only the abstraction of music
And something else,
to which I wasn’t privy.

To try to understand is to kill,
And one who doesn’t practice,
doesn’t learn,
But the Peas had a Feeling that
Tonight’s Gonna Be A Good Night
and the dance floor enveloped
me in an short embrace
That did not offer anything

10 Responses to “Tonight’s Gonna Be a Good Night”

  1. wkkortas said

    There is a good deal of Hemingway’s nada here, albeit in a different setting and with a different beat. The final two lines sum up what is present in the entire piece–the perfunctory, shallow embrace of the club scene and all it is (and isn’t) and how little there is there.

  2. forpuck said

    Thanks WK, your comments always make my day.

  3. Excellent flow, etc. Love much of the end-stanza.

  4. brian said

    nice…perhaps just an evenings entertainment but that will be gone shortly…great one shot.

  5. Reggie said

    I like the flow of this…it got a smile out of me.

  6. Claudia said

    i stood in a place of hunger – you had me with this first line..
    how pointless the beat is…abstraction of music..an embrace that doesn’t offer anything.. i loved those
    i wrote about my saturday night concert with bob mintzer as well – but this music did something for me..

  7. forpuck said

    Thanks guys, I’m glad you read it. It’s been quiet on the blog, so nice to know people still look in form the OSW.

  8. booguloo said

    Used to club, then I hammered, never got nailed though..

  9. Shashi said

    .. and the dance floor enveloped
    me in an short embrace
    That did not offer anything…
    What a beautiful imagery.. I liked it. thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay

Leave a Reply

