In Berlin

December 25, 2010

I get lost in the subway and
go north instead of south
for two stations, until
I realise my mistake at Nordbahnhof. 
Tentative steps take me
up the stairs,
then down the stairs, where 
the yellow tube light turns the edges of the platform green.

Three people pause their lives until
Train doors slide open.

a touch of the button
opens the embrace of the underground and
I step in to be carried away again

Peoples lives flow around me in German,
with no subtitles or voiceover.
The voice of the train is that of a woman, here as elsewhere 

I hope I’m travelling south again –
it’s all going south anyhow
one may as well go with the flow

4 Responses to “In Berlin”

  1. Claudia said

    oh – it’s now that you are in berlin – great – hope you like the city. have been there a few times (like Hamburg more though)
    german without subtitles – love this…smiles
    enjoy!

  2. forpuck said

    I’ve liked the city since went there the first time a couple of years ago. I was actually there before Xmas, but only had a chance to put up the text now. Hope you had a nice set of holidays C.

  3. This is clean & nice, but I would really love it if you’d try to tackle something more epic. Your poems often lay down the groundwork for something bigger. Add another level of symbolism & you’ll get an exponentially more complex poem imo.

    Then again, I’ve always enjoyed your narrative verse. It’s refreshing.

  4. Forpuck said

    Thanks Claudia.

    @KW, I get your point, and I can reach that more symbolic place some times, but I often find that the banality of everyday life is a meta-symbol for life itself…

    Either way, happy new year man, and thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

