The smell of yesterday’s sex

September 12, 2010

Daylight again
Filters in through dirty curtains
The most intimate of evidence
Still drapes the sofa in
Love’s merciless fallout

Black Choo’s still lie discarded
The silence spreads
Over plates of muesli
She pours me coffee
Which I will not drink

The smell of yesterday’s sex
Still fills her apartment
And I become a dog
Begging mutely
For her flesh

‘Why do you still come in the mornings?’
‘How do you mean?’
‘You know how I mean A’
‘Blow me’
‘No, really. Blow me’

7 Responses to “The smell of yesterday’s sex”

  1. brian said

    hehe…love the smell of the the morning after…but i would never waste the coffee…smiles. playful, nice.

  2. Gay Cannon said

    Vivid picture. Reminds me of the movie Carnal Knowledge. It has a certain sadness in it, but all these sex poems have a touch of sadness in them. They seem so lonely and distant as though there were no stars in the skies, smell to the roses, joy in the light of a spring day..only blue-gray mornings of dull desire. I could be wrong though. I often am.

  3. Andy said

    WoW! Brave entry for One Shot. Thanks for sharing.

  4. KB said

    What, no please?

  5. hi anton..really loved this…the type of poem you excel in…only one observation for me was the double use of the word drape in the opening stanza…but apart from that this was excellent.. cheers pete

  6. forpuck said

    Thank you everyone!

    Pete, many thanks. It’s another example of me not seing my own mistakes. Much obliged and it’s changed now.

  7. Eric said

    “Black Choo’s” – LOL! Nice piece!

Leave a Reply

