Invitation to coffee

September 8, 2010

Meet me
Where the grass
Is burnt yellow
And there is no
Air to breathe
Cars in the background
Provide the canopy
To the wall of sky
On your left
(My right)
The yellow
Will burn our faces
If the clouds disperse

You will come to
Understand
That there can be
No understanding
Between survivors of the heart

We will get up
Slowly
Dust ourselves off
And maybe get coffee

7 Responses to “Invitation to coffee”

  1. Jingle said

    beautifully done!
    🙂

  2. forpuck said

    Thank you very much.

  3. wkkortas said

    It is wonderful in its tentativeness (if that makes a damn bit of sense), somewhat anti-romantic and anti-pastoral in the first eight lines. Tightly drawn snapshot of somewhat wounded lives.

  4. forpuck said

    Thank you for the comment. Other people have told me that I am/accused me of being anti-romantic. I think I am quite cynical, and I’m often inspired by the city, the disconnect between people who think they are trying to reach out to one another, but who need to preserve their masks and walls at the same time.

    Here’s a short big city haiku:

    If you wear a mask
    I will lift my hat to you
    Ready to undress?

  5. the disconnect between people who think they are trying to reach out to one another, but who need to preserve their masks and walls at the same time.

    I am familiar with these ones,and i like your haiku 🙂

  6. forpuck said

    Thank you. There’s more to the disconnect, and then they all learn game.

  7. CatGem said

    this is beautiful

Leave a Reply

